Cannabis legalization continues to grow throughout the states, but state by state CBD Laws can still be a little confusing. Of course, anyone in a legal marijuana state will have no problem finding and buying CBD Oils, Topicals, Edibles, and more. The use of CBD for medical patients is also legal in most places, barring states such as Idaho, Nebraska, and North Dakota.
However, even in states where marijuana is illegal, a federal US bill allows the growth and sale of hemp products. That means users can buy and use hemp-derived CBD products, even without a prescription. Some states, such as Iowa, have stricter rules against hemp. Others make it hard to buy, but users can still buy CBD online.
All of the contrasting CBD Laws and regulations can get a little confusing, so here’s a list of all state by state CBD Laws to help.
Alabama CBD Laws
Alabama has fairly strict regulations against marijuana. However, Leni’s Law (2016) allows physicians to prescribe recommendations for CBD to patients with various conditions. However, the CBD Oil must contain no more than 0.3% THC.
Alaska CBD Laws
Alaska is one of the 10 current marijuana legal states. Adults aged 21 or over can buy cannabis and all kinds of CBD products. Hemp CBD products are also legal for anyone to buy and use.
Alaska has a medical marijuana program and also an Industrial Hemp Pilot Program to increase hemp production and marketing. Users will be able to buy CBD products in stores and online in this cannabis-friendly state.
Arizona CBD Laws
While the recreational use of cannabis is currently illegal in Arizona, the state does have a medical cannabis program. Patients 18 years of age or older with a recommendation for medical marijuana can purchase cannabidiol products.
Arkansas CBD Laws
The Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment allows patients with certain debilitating disease to use cannabis products. This includes CBD products, although they must have low amounts of THC. Hemp-based CBD products are also legal for all users and available to buy in stores and online. Just make sure your CBD products have less than 0.3% of THC.
California CBD Laws
California is one of ten states where cannabis is legal for both recreational and medical use. Adults aged 21 or over will have no problem buying and using CBD Oils, Topicals, and other products from various California stores or online.
The medical marijuana program in California also allows adults 18 years of age or older to get a medical card for certain conditions. Those who don’t meet either requirement will still be able to use hemp-based CBD products.
Colorado CBD Laws
Colorado was the first state to legalize the recreational use of marijuana for 21-year-old adults. Patients can also apply for the medical marijuana program in Colorado if they’re 18 or older.
Connecticut CBD Laws
Connecticut has a growing medical marijuana program which allows adults and minors to apply for a medical marijuana certificate. This allows them to use medical cannabis products- however, minors must not use cannabis in smokeable or vapable form. This makes products such as CBD Oils and Edibles a top priority. Those who are unable to use cannabis products can buy and use hemp CBD products.
Delaware CBD Laws
Delaware allows patients aged 18 or older with various conditions to apply for a medical card. Those with medical approval can buy and use cannabis and CBD products. Those without medical certification will also be able to use hemp CBD and an industrial hemp pilot program is being implemented here.
Florida CBD Laws
Florida has a thriving medical cannabis program which allows patients with a qualifying condition to get a medical card. Interestingly, medical cannabis is still illegal for many patients, but CBD Oils, tinctures, edibles, and sprays are allowed. Citizens here can also buy and use hemp products, and an industrial hemp pilot program is underway.
Georgia CBD Laws
Cannabis is illegal for both medical and recreational use here. However, Georgia does have a program which allows patients with certain conditions to obtain CBD. Patients must use CBD Oils with up to 0.3% THC and an equal or greater amount of CBD. It’s currently hard to obtain low-THC oil within the state, but users can buy CBD products online to use in Georgia.
Hawaii CBD Laws
Hawaii has a medical marijuana program for patients and recreational legalization is expected within the next few years. Hawaii is also one of the leading states as far as CBD laws go. Hemp CBD Oil has been legal for a long time and is widely available as an over-the-counter product. Residents should have no problem getting low-THC CBD Oil.
Idaho CBD Laws
Idaho is one of the strictest states in terms of marijuana laws. Recreational use of cannabis is illegal, as is medical marijuana. Even efforts to legalize cannabis oil for patients have been shut down in the past. Hemp-based CBD Oil is a different matter, and you shouldn’t have a problem buying this providing it’s 100% THC-free.
Illinois CBD Laws
Illinois has a successful medical marijuana program, even though adult use is currently illegal. Adults with certain conditions can get a medical card to use cannabis products.
Illinois also passed the Commercial Low THC Hemp Extract Act in 2018. This specifically allows for the extraction, sale, and distribution of CBD from hemp products. Any CBD Oil under 0.3% THC is legal here- even if is derived from cannabis.
Indiana CBD Laws
Medical and recreational use of cannabis is illegal in Indiana. However, the state does have some very progressive CBD Laws.
The Senate Enrolled Act 52 allows anyone to buy, sell or use CBD Oil, providing it is under 0.3% THC. The state also has an industrial hemp program and using hemp products is also legal. In other words, CBD Oil is widely available and legal.
Iowa CBD Laws
Iowa has a medical program which allows certified patients specifically to use CBD Oil with up to 3% THC. Patients must obtain a Medical Cannabidiol Registration Card, which are currently sparse. However, more dispensaries are opening throughout the state and the medical program is growing.
Iowa is one of two states where buying hemp CBD is difficult. The state government has spoken out against the sale of hemp oil, classifying it as a cannabis product. However, many stores still sell CBD.
Kansas CBD Laws
Medical and recreational cannabis is illegal in Kansas. However, CBD is legal. Kansas Senate Bill 282 was passed earlier this year, allowing citizens to buy and use CBD products. You don’t need a medical prescription to use CBD either. Products must have 0% THC, but there are plenty of THC-free CBD products available to legally enjoy.
Kentucky CBD Laws
CBD in many forms is legal in Kentucky. While marijuana is illegal, industrial hemp is exempted from being defined as marijuana, making hemp CBD products legal to use. Cannabis-derived CBD is also legal to use providing you have a written order from a physician. CBD products must have 0.3% THC or less.
Louisiana CBD Laws
Non-smokable marijuana products are legal to use for patients. This means patients can use products such as CBD tinctures, topicals, and edibles. Although the state doesn’t have an industrial hemp program, hemp-derived CBD products are legal to use. These products should be free of THC.
Maine CBD Laws
Maryland CBD Laws
You can use hemp CBD products in Maryland or cannabis CBD products if you have a written certification. Maryland’s medical cannabis program allows physicians, nurse midwives, nurse practitioners, podiatrists, and even dentists to prescribe cannabis to patients.
Massachusetts CBD Laws
Massachusetts allows adults 21 years of age or over to use cannabis for recreational use. It also had a medical marijuana program allowing patients 18 years of age and up to get a medical card.
Michigan CBD Laws
CBD is legal in all forms in Michigan. Proposition 1 in 2018 legalized the recreational use of cannabis, including CBD products, for adults. Michigan also has a long-running medical marijuana program. Hemp products are also legal to buy here.
Minnesota CBD Laws
Minnesota has a medical cannabis program allowing certified patients to use cannabis products, including CBD. Many conditions are covered and more are added each year. Hemp CBD products are also legal for anyone to buy and use. These are sold throughout the state.
Mississippi CBD Laws
Mississippi still has fairly strict rules on cannabis and cannabidiol. The state doesn’t allow marijuana for recreational or medical use. However, the medical use of CBD is legal in very limited circumstances.
Patients with debilitating epilepsy can obtain CBD Oil (under 0.5% THC) from state universities. The state currently doesn’t have an industrial hemp program. However, you can buy hemp products online.
Missouri CBD Laws
Missouri residents are able to use hemp-derived CBD products providing they have less than 0.3% THC and at least 5% CBD.
Montana CBD Laws
Montana has both an industrial hemp pilot program and a medical cannabis program. Residents are able to buy and use CBD products derived from industrial hemp. Medical cannabis patients can get a medical card allowing them to buy and use various cannabis products.
Nebraska CBD Laws
Nebraska still has very strict laws against the use of cannabis. The state has no medical marijuana program and regularly shoots down bills pushing for legalization.
However, the state does have a unique bill which allows the use of FDA-approved CBD products, such as Epidolex. The state also has an industrial hemp program, and hemp-derived CBD products are available to buy and use. These must contain less than 0.3% THC.
Nevada CBD Laws
CBD is fully legal in Nevada. Recreational and medical use of cannabis is legal, so cannabis oils are widely available to adults. You’ll also have no problem buying or using hemp products here. CBD products are widely available across the state.
New Hampshire CBD Laws
The use of cannabis is decriminalized in New Hampshire. The medical marijuana program in New Hampshire also allows patients with various conditions to buy and use cannabis oils and other such CBD products.
New Jersey CBD Laws
The New Jersey governor is in favor of legalization, and restrictions are loosening up over time. Currently, the state has a medical marijuana program which allows patients to use cannabis products for various conditions. You can also use industrial hemp CBD products.
New Mexico CBD Laws
New Mexico has a medical cannabis program which allows adult patients to get a medical card for various conditions. The state also has an industrial hemp program. Anyone is able to buy and use hemp-derived CBD products.
New York CBD Laws
Recreational use of cannabis is illegal in New York, although the state appears to be moving towards legalization. New York’s medical marijuana program allows patients to get a medical card for various conditions.
North Carolina CBD Laws
North Carolina has a limited medical cannabis program. Patients with intractable epilepsy are able to use CBD Oil with less than 0.9% THC and at least 5% CBD.
North Dakota CBD Laws
North Dakota recently legalized the use of medical cannabis. Qualifying patients will be able to buy cannabis and CBD products in late 2018.
While the Farm Bill enables the sale of hemp-derived CBD Oil, North Dakota laws are sometimes strict on CBD. Stores in some cities face police raids. However, users shouldn’t face any problem for using hemp CBD products.
Ohio CBD Laws
The Ohio medical marijuana program recently went into effect. It allows qualifying patients to use medical marijuana in smokeless forms, including CBD oils, tinctures, topicals, and edibles.
Using hemp products is also legal. The Ohio Board of Pharmacy states that CBD should only be dispensed via Medical Marijuana Control Program dispensaries. However, there are still some private retailers and online sales.
Oklahoma CBD Laws
New medical marijuana laws in Oklahoma allow qualifying patients to use cannabis products with less than 12% THC. It also has a long-running law which allows minors with epilepsy to use CBD. Industrial hemp products are legal and there are even some CBD-only stores in operation in Oklahoma.
Oregon CBD Laws
Cannabis is legal for both recreational and medical purposes in Oregon. The state also has an industrial hemp program. Adults 21 years of age or over can buy and use cannabis products, and hemp CBD products are also widely available to everyone. No prescription is needed, although patients with certain conditions can still get a medical recommendation and obtain CBD from dispensaries.
Pennsylvania CBD Laws
Medical marijuana is legal in Pennsylvania and the first dispensary opened earlier this year. Patients can’t buy flower or edibles, but they can buy products such as oils and topicals. The state also allows industrial hemp, so anyone can get their hands on CBD.
Rhode Island CBD Laws
South Carolina CBD Laws
Marijuana is illegal in South Carolina but CBD Oil is legal to use in many cases. Hemp products are legal for purchase and use. State laws also allow CBD products providing they contain less than 0.3% THC.
South Dakota CBD Laws
South Dakota has strict laws against the use of cannabis products. The use of marijuana is illegal and there’s no medical program currently in place. A 2017 law made the use of FDA approved CBD products legal, such as Epidolex. Residents can use hemp products, but you’ll most likely have to buy online.
Tennessee CBD Laws
Many stores throughout Tennessee sell CBD, although the government is trying to crack down on unlicensed retailers. The use of hemp products is legal for everyone and the state has an industrial hemp pilot program in place.
Texas CBD Laws
Texas is one of the stricter states when it comes to CBD laws. The Texas Compassionate Use Act allows epilepsy patients to buy and use cannabis oil if they find other treatments ineffective. Oils must have at least 10% of CBD and less than 0.5% of THC.
Texas previously imposed stricter rules against the sale of CBD products, including hemp-based products. However, the state is currently looking to reassess CBD laws.
Utah CBD Laws
CBD is legal to buy and use in Utah. The 2018 Hemp and Cannabidiol Act legalizes CBD products for sale. Cannabidiol products must have less than 0.3% THC and be correctly labeled, but residents should have no problem getting these.
They also recently passed the Medical Marijuana Initiative (2018). This allows patients with certain conditions to obtain a recommendation to use marijuana and cannabis-infused products. The state has some of the most progressive laws when it comes to CBD.
Vermont CBD Laws
Vermont allows the use of cannabis and CBD. Adult use for cannabis took effect on July 1st, 2018 and the state also has a medical marijuana program. CBD products are widely available and sold throughout the state- both hemp and cannabis-based.
Virginia CBD Laws
Virginia has a limited medical marijuana program. Patients with certain conditions can get their hands on CBD Oil. However, it must be at least 15% CBD or THCA-A with 5% of THC or less. You can also use hemp-derived CBD products without a prescription.
Washington CBD Laws
Cannabis use is legal in Washington for both recreational and medical purposes. Those who are 21 years of age or older will be able to buy cannabis products including CBD. The same applies to those 18+ with a medical card. You can also buy and use hemp-derived products without needing medical approval.
Washington D.C. CBD Laws
West Virginia CBD Laws
West Virginia legalized medical cannabis in 2017. Qualifying patients are able to use CBD pills, oils, and topical forms such as creams and sprays. You can also use hemp-derived CBD products without needing a medical card.
Wisconsin CBD Laws
Marijuana is illegal, but CBD is legal in many cases. The Wisconsin Department of Justice released a memo earlier this year stating CBD products are only legal to possess for patients with a doctor’s certification. However, this was soon amended to allow the production and sale of hemp-based CBD Oil.
Wyoming CBD Laws
Wyoming has some of the strictest CBD laws. The state allows epileptic patients to use CBD Oil with at least 5% CBD and up to 0.3% THC. However, patients will generally have to buy out-of-state to get it. You can buy and use hemp-derived products, but they must have no THC. There have been cases of legal action taken against those possessing oils with THC.